Dept. 56 and Ashton-Magnuson Media


Los Angeles-based quartet Infantree will release their debut full-length CD Would Work September 14 via Vapor Records. The 12-song disc was produced by longtime Neil Young collaborator Niko Bolas (Freedom, Blue Notes, Living With War) and was recorded at the legendary Sunset Sound in Hollywood.

InfantreeAlex Vojdani (vocals, lyrics, guitar, bass, keys), Matt Kronish (vocals, lyrics, guitar, banjo, bass), Donald Fisher (vocals, lyrics, keys, bass, mandolin, guitar) and Jordan Avesar (drums)—will be performing at the Echo in Los Angeles July 29 and finishing their July residency at Genghis Cohen in LA on the 31st, with additional shows to be announced soon.

Now in their early twenties, Matt, Donald and Alex began creating music together as 9th graders at adjacent San Fernando Valley high schools. Infantree's live performance involves the three alternating lead vocal duties and nearly a dozen instruments. Yet there's a cohesive, rooted sound to Infantree that completely belies their youth.

The band honed their sound playing over 250 sets on Santa Monica's 3rd Street Promenade, as well as shows across California, Outside Lands Music & Arts Festival in San Francisco, CA, the Bridge School Benefit concert in Mountain View, CA and the 2010 SXSW Music Conference in Austin, TX.

Infantree have received praise from the media for their Food For Thought EP released earlier this year. Here's a sample:

"This four-piece band from California with groundbreaking ideas and the ability to not be subjected to a single genre should cause a pleasant uproar, especially with single 'Speak Up.' The song opens with a definite folk melody and effortlessly blends into a complex blues rhythm. Infantree incorporates swinging, mellow vocals that are comparable to Tom Waits…and a Santana influence throughout the EP.", May 2, 2010

"The Cali four-piece are hard to pigeon-hole and seem to be out to redefine the word 'eclectic.' Intelligent, witty, poetic lyrics mesh with some gorgeous diverse instrumentation with flourishes ranging from Tex-Mex tinges to Satiesque minimalism. Elements of F*cked Folk merge with Psych Folk and Indie Rock with some help from Midlake and Nick Drake to create a real enjoyable collection, showcasing some surprisingly mature songwriting. And the good news is the boys are busy working on a full-length LP expected to drop this Autumn."

—Pat Rique,, May 6, 2010

"The Los Angeles quartet conjures up intelligent and memorable jams about the earth and so much more on their EP, Food For Thought. You'll hear everything from banjo to mandolin to electric guitar within Infantree's organic soundscape, and it'll keep pulling you back."

—Rick Florino,, June 28, 2010

…'Speak Up'…the captivating vocals by Donald Fisher (who also soars on 'Feet of Clay')…the fantastic 'Euphemism'…the superb 'Oil Can.' Can't wait to hear more from these guys."

—Jeffrey Sisk, The Daily News (McKeesport, PA), July 1, 2010

"The results are as startling as Infantree's instrumentation is lovely — 'Oil Can' and 'Speak Up' are two of the year's most innovative, haunting and above all appropriately simple videos, and ones that showcase Infantree's flair for folksy, elastic arrangements in a way that no big-budget video perhaps ever could."

The full track listing for Would Work is as follows:

  1. Water
  2. In Line
  3. Speak Up
  4. Rubbed Raw
  5. Hypo
  6. Mourning Glory
  7. Slaughter House
  8. Cloud of Sound
  9. If She Could
  10. No One's Home
  11. Meet the Gang
  12. To & Fro

For more information, go to

Infantree Publicity Contacts

Tresa Redburn/Dept.56, (818) 702-6253

Kristine Ashton-Magnuson/Ashton-Magnuson Media, (818) 996-2496